FSC | Field Studies Council

Field Studies Council: Bringing Environmental Understanding to All

Oil and Acrylic Painting Courses

Oils and Acrylics are placed together because of broad similarities in the way the materials are handled. All oil and acrylic painting courses assume some prior experience of painting though not necessarily in oils or acrylics.  Find out more about which oil and acrylic painting course is suitable for you.

The list below shows the current oil and acrylic painting courses available.  Full details of each oil and acrylic painting course can be found by clicking on the title. 

Course Title Centre Level
/Age Range
Tutor Dates
2014 programme
Painting the Autumn Landscapes with Oils and Pastels Margam Discovery Centre / Canolfan Ddarganfod Margam
South Wales
Open for Everyone David Johnson Fri 24 October
- Sun 26 October
Painting with Acrylics: Exploring Their Full Potential Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Open for Everyone Carole Massey Fri 24 October
- Sun 26 October
2015 programme
Painting in Oils: Introducing the Basics and the New Water-Soluble Paints Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Open for Everyone Jacqui Petrie Fri 20 March
- Sun 22 March
Improve Your Oil Painting: Introducing the New Water-Soluble Paints Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Intermediate Jacqui Petrie Fri 08 May
- Sun 10 May
Acrylic Adventure: Introducing Essential Techniques Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Open for Everyone Carole Massey Fri 08 May
- Sun 10 May
Painting in Oils: Seago at Pin Mill Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Intermediate John Shave Mon 20 July
- Fri 24 July
Painting with Acrylic Inks: Making a Splash with Colour Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Intermediate Sue Williams Fri 24 July
- Mon 27 July
Painting in Oils: Impressionism Today Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Intermediate John Shave Fri 24 July
- Mon 27 July
A Splash of Colour in Acrylic Inks and Watercolour Slapton Ley
South Devon Coast
Open for Everyone Sue Williams Fri 31 July
- Mon 03 August
Introduction to Modern Impressionism in Oils Slapton Ley
South Devon Coast
Open for Everyone John Shave Fri 31 July
- Mon 03 August
Impressionist Landscapes and Seascapes around Slapton Ley in Oils Slapton Ley
South Devon Coast
Open for Everyone John Shave Mon 03 August
- Fri 07 August
Seascapes Capturing Light Slapton Ley
South Devon Coast
Intermediate Susan Gray Fri 07 August
- Sun 09 August
Adventures in Acrylic Slapton Ley
South Devon Coast
Open for Everyone Linda Hollingshead Mon 17 August
- Fri 21 August
Autumn Landscapes using Acrylics Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Intermediate Colin Steed Fri 25 September
- Sun 27 September
Painting the Autumn Landscapes with Oils and Pastels Margam Discovery Centre / Canolfan Ddarganfod Margam
South Wales
Open for Everyone David Johnson Fri 23 October
- Sun 25 October
Acrylics and Mixed Media Flatford Mill
Suffolk
Open for Everyone Carole Massey Fri 13 November
- Sun 15 November

Why choose an FSC oil painting course or acrylic painting course?

  • Location: FSC Centres have been chosen for their stunning locations with amazing views and access to flora and wildlife, ensuring you make the most of your oil or acrylic painting course
  • Expert staff: FSC oil and acrylic painting courses are led by expert tutors who are passionate and knowledgeable about the subject
  • Suitable for everyone: oil and acrylic painting courses are available at all levels whether you are a complete beginner or an experienced artist