FSC | Field Studies Council

Field Studies Council: Bringing Environmental Understanding to All

Customer Reviews

Feedback from attendees on Arts courses

Average Customer Review:

4 out of 5   221 reviews



Freshen Up Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting September 01, 2017

Accommodation difficulties dealt with in good natured and helpful manner. Catering and catering staff very good, thoroughly enjoyed all the food. Rooms very clean. Parking good. Art course very enjoyable, however, would have liked more opportunity to paint rather than watch demonstrations. Maybe some more time spent on experimenting with brushes, paints and techniques. Very useful hints about brush and colour use but more hands on would have been appreciated.


History of Art in Suffolk at Flatford Mill, starting September 01, 2017

Very interesting well organised course-excellent guides at all three venues . Tutor's talks packed with information. Can appreciate why Saturday evening was free time - as it had been a busy day with two visits but would have liked to know in advance so that I could have brought some books/ art materials to use during this time ... free time during the day is ideal for walks etc but the evenings are already dark so that option s not available ...maybe there could have been an optional 'self lead' session e.g. relevant DVD


Calligraphy for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 25, 2017

Loved the course and it was great to have flexibility in the levels of ability in the class. I am a complete beginner, but didn't feel overawed by those who were doing diploma standard work, nor did I feel that I was holding them back. The tutor, Gaynor, was a good combination of sympathetic, encouraging and strict for example when the discipline of holding the nib correctly needed attention. She gave everyone time and attention in turn. The group was very nice, varied in age and background, and very friendly. Meals were adequate, though all the staff were away for a wedding and the ones who were left coped admirably. I'll definitely come back.


Silver Light and Reflection: Drawing and Painting at Blencathra, starting August 25, 2017

excellent course, well presented and good weather.


Develop Your Watercolours from Sketches and Photographs at Blencathra, starting August 21, 2017

The title was misleading as the tutor limited the scope to painting buildings. I would have liked more emphasis on sketching techniques and taking photographs, as the course suggested. I expected more focus on landscapes as we were suroounded by beautiful scenery, mountains, lakes, rivers etc. The approach was very didactic and I would have liked more opportunities to express my own ideas with the tutor guiding me. I am curious to know why FSC selected this particular tutor for Blencathra as He may have been happier in an urban setting. I did pick up some tips which I can use in the future but it was disappointing not to exploit the wonderful landscapes on the doorstep of Blencathra.


Photography for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 21, 2017

I love the atmosphere of Flatford Mill FSC but knew nothing of the Tutor. All was excellent giving me an overall excellent week of learning how to use my camera. Staying in Valley Farm was a privilege - what a magnificent building and to be able to use it a bonus. Food and service were very good, with sandwich making for lunch. The Tutor was exceptional - adapting the course to our needs and surroundings. Taking advantage of weather changes and use of mini-bus.


Photography for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 21, 2017

Excellent course with a good combination of theory and practical work. Steve, our tutor, has great enthusiasm for photography and he made the course both informative and fun. We spent most of the time around Flatford which is a great location for photography, but also had a day out at Dunwich Heath/beach. Food, accommodation and staff at Flatford were all up to their usual high standard!


Introducing Portrait Painting Using Coloured Pencils at Flatford Mill, starting August 18, 2017

Unable to rate as left early, feeling ill. The time spent on elementary tracing of image would have been better spent on how to construct a facial image. "To bring list" wrongly included plastic eraser, and a list of the most frequently used colours for portraits would have been useful. Tutor did not have colours for sale as stated, although there were quite a few on loan.


Watercolour Landscape Painting at Flatford Mill, starting August 14, 2017

Helpful and happy staff, atmospheric and historic accommodation, fresh nutritious tasty plentiful meals, beautiful surroundings, a knowledgeable and inspiring tutor. A really good week all round. I look forward to going again.


Landscape Painting in Snowdonia at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 11, 2017

Course tutor: Excellent approach, wonderful locations. But late return to base meant very little time before supper. Never back in time for afternoon tea and cake. Food: Not healthy. Too much sugar and cream. Plain yoghurt requested, but never came. Custard requested in place of cream: served on only 2 days Accommodation: Very uncomfortable beds in the bunks meant we had to leave one day early.


Develop Your Style In Constable Country at Flatford Mill, starting August 11, 2017

This was an interesting and instructive course. There is a relaxed atmosphere at Flatford, and I got individual help. We had an enjoyable trip to Felixstowe ferry via the centre's minibus where there was lots to sketch and paint .We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the good food provided. We certainly never went hungry! I particularly like the care the everyone takes about preserving the environment at Flatford for the future.


Seascapes Capturing Light at Slapton Ley, starting August 11, 2017

Excellent facilities with friendly, helpful staff. Extremely good value for money, with an excellent course and tutor. Although its a long way to come from Chester, I am already looking forward to next year with a view to booking on Susan Gray's course again. And with that in mind, I look forward to receiving the 2018 brochure. Thanks to everybody concerned at FSC for making the whole experience so enjoyable.


Watercolours of Wales at Margam Discovery Centre, starting August 07, 2017

Very encouraging tutor. Interesting learning about pigments and paints. Opportunity to visit 'hidden ' Wales . Margam domestic staff could not have been more helpful .


Watercolour: Awash with Ideas! at Flatford Mill, starting August 04, 2017

I really enjoyed the course at Flatford Mill. The tutor was excellent, although it was not ideal that she had students in two classrooms and was not always on hand when students needed help. The food was good and all the catering staff were hardworking and pleasant. The location is stunning and it was a real thrill for me to be sleeping in Willy Lott's house. I have reserved a place on the same tutor's course next year.


Geology and Scenery of North Wales at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 04, 2017

An excellent course delivered superbly by an enthusiast who worked incredibly hard to ensure that all could understand. Hugely informative, planned to a fantastic level of detail and good fun. All with beautiful walks in a lovely setting.


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 04, 2017

A brilliant week! Martin was an absolute fount of knowledge - a genuine enthusiast and excellent at getting his knowledge across. We covered an amazing amount. The Geology & Marine Biology worked well together; not so sure about the addition of Botany, which almost deserved a course of its own, although it was lovely to learn some more flower names, & also identify birds and butterflies. It was quite strenuous & perhaps more warning could be given that there will be a lot of climbing up & down steps & scrambling over rocks to reach beaches - fine for me but some struggled!


Digital Plant Photography at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

Adrian the tutor was terrific, what a vast amount of the subject and the surrounding area. Accommodation was up to the normal FSC standard, the food was great apart from the evening meal which had a limited choice and no plain food


Digital Plant Photography at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

I did Adrian Davies' Digital Plant Photography course last year; enjoyed it and learnt so much that I booked again this year. And glad I did, to reinforce, consolidate and learn more about photographing flowers. A wet Wednesday was spend profitably in the lab. with Adrian - enthusiastic, experienced Tutor. He enabled all of us to try every project, explained and enlarged on detail even at meals and pub! A great group experience.


Expressive Watercolour at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

A most enjoyable course from start to finish, Hilary was excellent and worked hard to ensure each member of the group progressed giving one to one tuition as required. When the weather halted outdoor visits Hilary put the time to good use enabling the group to learn extensively about colour mixing, thus enhancing future experiences using watercolour. The itinerary worked well with plenty of tuition, time to practice, variety and reflection.


Expressive Watercolour at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

Fabulous i have been oh Hilary's courses before and as always the teaching was inspirational. We had a lovely studio to work in especially on Wednesday when the weather was not good for working outside. We also visited lovely locations including Start point, Beesands and Slapton village. I learned alot about using different techniques and also working with colour in a limited palette.


Expressive Watercolour at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

Lots of inspiration and useful tuition from Hilary. An excellent location for beautful coastal scenery. LOTS OF FUN and a very comfotable centre with a very good chef. What more could I ask for ?


Landscape Adventures in Acrylic and Mixed Media at Slapton Ley, starting July 31, 2017

Excellent course with a very helpful and informative tutor. I have improved my techniques, understanding and confidence


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting July 31, 2017

I try to attend this course every year and always enjoy it. I did find this year that the course was overcrowded, the room (Constable) could have been better presented, and I also think that larger fridges should be provided in all studio rooms in order that there is enough room for packed lunches and drinks. Having said that I would not give the course any less than 5 stars because the tutors are exceptional.


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting July 31, 2017

another excellent course lead by Rob and Sian . Lots of advice and encouragement. Lovely group atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend this course


An Approach to Botanical Illustration - Drawing and Basic Wa at Slapton Ley, starting July 30, 2017

Excellent course: brilliant tuition with superb attention to different skill levels and learning needs of each individual student. Accommodation absolutely fine and food absolutely delicious and varied.


Flora and Fauna for Hillwalkers at Kindrogan, starting July 28, 2017

My first visit to Kindrogan - what a stunning location. James was an excellent tutor, with an astonishing knowledge of the local flora. An unexpected bonus was bagging my first (and my last, I'm sure) Munro at Cairnwell - the tutor and course colleagues providing much assistance to drag me up the direct ascent! I learned much and hugely enjoyed the fabulous scenery. The accommodation was comfortable and the evening meals excellent. Unfortunately we did not see many birds or mammals - even the famous Kindrogan pine martens were elusive. I do hope I can come back to Kindrogan in the future.


Flatford Watercolour Adventure at Flatford Mill, starting July 28, 2017

Extremely enjoyable in this wonderful environment. Tutor very patient and encouraging, and generous with his time. I felt though that although we were shown a new technique, and a few tips on paint inhibitors, we weren't actually given much painting or drawing instruction from this obviously very talented artist, although his critiques at the end were interesting and helpful.


Somerset Landscape Painters 2017 at Nettlecombe Court, starting July 28, 2017

I was very happy with the Tutor, David Johnson, who was very knowledgeable and a good tutor. He spent a great deal of time with us. The group numbered seven. My accommodation was quiet and comfortable, with en suite. A chair would be nice to have. The catering was very good, always on time, and the staff were so helpful and cheerful. We had transport and a driver every day. The weather was uncertain and this made for difficulties in selecting locations for painting. Nonetheless we were out each day. I suggest that contact details of local taxies be included with course details for anyone needing a taxi from Williston.


Understanding the Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire C at Orielton, starting July 27, 2017

As usual, the standard of the course was extremely high. Dave Green the tutor was well versed in the subject at hand and was very approachable in explaining to students with small brains such as myself. Liz Weston, the other part of the team was a valued member of the gang and showed a high level of professionalism. The Centre staff, catering etc also up held the standards of the FSC. I will definitely be attending another course next year - funds permitting.


Summer Guided Tour of Suffolk at Flatford Mill, starting July 24, 2017

Excellent tutor - very knowledgeable and lovely singing voice. Accommodation quirky but good, food good and staff friendly and helpful. Another couple of days to explore more would have been good.


Summer Guided Tour of Suffolk at Flatford Mill, starting July 24, 2017

A nice range of visits and lovely group of people. Neil's local knowledge was invaluable and his commentaries hilarious..not to mention the interesting routes we took on occasion (don't mention the level crossing)... A true entertainer with real insight to the region and local history. Loved it


Extreme Close-up Photography at Slapton Ley, starting July 23, 2017

Excellent course, wonderful tutor( Julian Cremona), very much up my street. A fund of practical advice on sample preparation, photo techniques, lighting etc. etc. You name it he covered it. Live samples returned unharmed to the wild as it should be. More please. Slapton Ley can be recommended Too.


Extreme Close-up Photography at Slapton Ley, starting July 23, 2017

Excellent leader, good content and plenty of specimens on which to practice our skills.


Walking and Sketching Constable Country in Pencil, Ink and W at Flatford Mill, starting July 21, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the walks and learned some new sketching techniques that I will be able to use in future. Linda Matthews teaches a free and flowing style with the emphasis on responding quickly to capture the essence of a subject and creating spontaneous and atmospheric sketches. I was surprised and pleased with what I managed to do. The group was very friendly and supportive and we had fun even though the weather was a bit changeable at times!


Walking and Sketching Constable Country in Pencil, Ink and W at Flatford Mill, starting July 21, 2017

It was my first time on a FSC course and I thoroughly enjoyed it - excellent tutor and freedom to explore different techniques. Accommodation excellent - not fussy about dirty boots and food was great, with plenty of it. Highly recommend this course.


Walking and Sketching Constable Country in Pencil, Ink and W at Flatford Mill, starting July 21, 2017

Excellent overall experience. No complaints...I would do it again!


Machair Flowers: Isle of Tiree at Fsc Head Office, starting July 01, 2017

A very enjoyable and well-organised course - our third run by Martyn and Robin. A variety of different habitats enabled us to see a wide range of flowers, birds and mammals amongst other wildlife.


Following in the Footsteps of the Cumbrae Naturalist at Millport, starting June 30, 2017

Excellent tutor - very knowledgeable. Accommodation very good, pity the food let the Centre down - it was only mediocre especially on the Friday night as there was no meat option available. Also a better selection of fresh fruit and maybe homemade soup as a first course for those who didn't want a dessert would have been good.


Following in the Footsteps of the Cumbrae Naturalist at Millport, starting June 30, 2017

Interesting and varied course.


Improve Your Watercolours: Introducing Pen and Wash at Flatford Mill, starting June 09, 2017

Andrew Pitt was a really good tutor, the food was lovely, people friendly and it was a privilege to sleep in Willy Lotts cottage. Thank you Karen Hills


Calligraphy for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting June 02, 2017

As ever Gaynor was the most superb tutor and how lucky we were to have her as a tutor on this FSC course


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting May 30, 2017

Another excellent week bookbinding with George at Flatford. Splendid group, great atmosphere, got lots done! The catering was as good as ever, with curry and sticky toffee pudding - fortunately not on the same day, so there was room for both.


Beautiful Botanical Illustration at Margam Discovery Centre, starting May 26, 2017

Debbie came with lots of plants / materials etc and gave comprehensive handouts as well as lots of demos and advice. A very encouraging teacher..so went home full of enthusiasm for the topic.. and looking forward to the next course to learn even more!


Spring Wildlife Watch at Orielton, starting May 11, 2017

More than I expected - with a knowledgeable Tutor in Clive Hurford who was as informative about the birds as the flowers! Out most of the time, including evening bat watching, so glad we had good weather!


Small Watercolours for Christmas at Flatford Mill, starting November 18, 2016

This was a wonderful weekend. Sue Williams is an excellent and experienced tutor, offering encouragement to us all and seeing the positive in our efforts. She generously provided us with materials as well as with demonstrations of her own work. I came away buzzing with good ideas and new techniques to try out. The staff at Flatford Mill are enthusiastic and professional. The accommodation is comfortable and the food absolutely delicious. The countryside is so beautiful at this time of year that I felt refreshed and ready to face the real world again on Monday morning.


Stained Glass: Painting With Light at Flatford Mill, starting October 28, 2016

excellent leaded glass course- tutor- Carole-really good and ensured everyone completed their project. It is strangely hard work as lots of concentration needed and the time flew by. Very enjoyable and a small group size so their was lots of attention for beginners and improvers.Flatford is a lovely place to be and welcoming.


Adding Texture to Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting October 28, 2016

Interesting course on using products to enhance paintings plus tips on brush handling and colour. Friendly tuition and generous sharing of experience. Full programme utilising time available providing inspiration to go away and try afterwards.


Improve Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting September 30, 2016

I had a wonderful weekend painting with John Tookey. 24 years since I was at Flatford first as a student, then latterly a tutor. Everything was the same high standard, catering was excellent and generous., Staff were friendly and helpful, accommodation comfortable. The atmosphere was highly conducive to painting, relaxed and happy. I was pleased to introduce a friend to Flatford who wants to go again.


Freshen Up Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting September 09, 2016

Andrew Pitt is an amazing artist with outstanding communication skills. He knows his craft and explains watercolour techniques with supporting evidence and samples. I appreciated his knowledge of how other contemporary watercolour artists handle the median. He has a few guidelines that he cheerfully shares with the class. His guiding principles help students produce painting reflecting his great watercolour skills. Andrew encouraged dialogue between class participants and created a collaborative classroom environment. He was always positive, encouraging exploration and creativity. The class was wonderful and we all felt our enthusiasm and skills increased under Andrew's calm guidance. The world need more people like Watercolour Artist Andrew Pitt!


Fly Fishing in the Dales at Malham Tarn, starting September 02, 2016

A very enjoyable week with a quality professional guide. A good balance between different styles of fishing and venues. The course was as intense or as relaxed as you wanted to make it. The Malham Tarn FS staff were friendly, looked after us very well and we certainly didn't go hungry.


Calligraphy for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 26, 2016

Had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend with excellent tution.


Calligraphy for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 26, 2016

Experienced, knowledgeable and patient teacher. Beautiful location. Great group of people.


The Secret Gardens of the Lake District at Blencathra, starting August 22, 2016


Develop Your Watercolours from Sketches and Photographs at Blencathra, starting August 22, 2016

Experience a mixed bag really. On the plus side, the centre's location is incomparable. Beautiful views of the peaks in the North Lakes. I was unfortunately allocated a room without a view facing out onto a generator that fired up during the night which wasn't conducive to a good night's sleep in what was otherwise a calm and peaceful environment. I think the group size was too large for the workroom/studio (which isn't really an art studio - no easels and one sink to wash brushes out in). Fortunately, the weather was kind so we were able to paint outdoors at a number of well chosen locations.


Scenery and Geology of the Lake District at Blencathra, starting August 22, 2016

The course was very good but I struggled sometimes as I was a novice and everyone else had some to a lot of geology experience and knowledge. The course was really geared to using the Lake District to show examples of geological features etc. I would have liked to have learnt exactly how the Lake District became how it is today from 500 Ma years ago. I will have to work most of this out for myself given the information about geology the course provided. A great bunch of people to spend a week with and an extremely knowledgeable tutor. The centre is in a brilliant location and they catered for my gluten free diet very well, food was excellent.


Scenery and Geology of the Lake District at Blencathra, starting August 22, 2016

Grwet tutor (especially at such short notice), food good but shame about the tiny room (some four bed rooms only occupied by one person but we were squeezed into a small twin bed room with little hanging space and very few surfaces or draws to store anything!)


Come and Paint in Constable Country! at Flatford Mill, starting August 19, 2016

Accommodation and catering very good. Facilities and studio space very good. Location beautiful. Excellent value for money. Thank you to all involved.


Landscape Adventures in Acrylic and Mixed Media at Slapton Ley, starting August 15, 2016

Linda started with a well planned lesson on the first evening, and went on each day with lessons and one-to-one sessions tailored to the needs of the group and of each individual. She challenged us to work at a higher and more complex level than we thought we could, and calmly declined to let us rest in our comfort zones. A very likeable and interesting teacher.


Somerset Landscape Painters at Nettlecombe Court, starting August 15, 2016

Excellent tuition - encouraging and good fun. Beautiful location with interesting,scenic landscapes to paint. Would definitely recommend this course.


History and Natural History of the Conwy Valley from Source at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 14, 2016


Geology and Scenery of Shropshire and the Borderlands at Preston Montford, starting August 13, 2016

The excursions with David were very interesting and well organized. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about food. Breakfast and packed lunch were ok but dinner could be better.


Geology and Scenery of Shropshire and the Borderlands at Preston Montford, starting August 13, 2016

Intensive but non specialist story of how the geology shapes the landscape. Walks were good and the scenery spectacular. A very good week.


Geology and Scenery of Shropshire and the Borderlands at Preston Montford, starting August 13, 2016


Landscape Painting in Snowdonia at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 12, 2016

Very good course. The people at the centre were helpful, the catering was excellent, accommodation was good, we had a decent workroom and the use of a mini bus, the tutor was professional, experienced and very helpful. We visited a good range of painting sites through the week. I enjoyed the company of fellow students. I would have liked en suite though the solo occupancy room I had was sufficiently comfortable. I would come again and will recommend the course to others.


Seascapes Capturing Light at Slapton Ley, starting August 12, 2016

Sue Grey is a good teacher: sharing her expertise in a well-planned and well-presented way, and was responsive to the needs of each individual. She knows the area well, and was able to point out places of special interest to individuals remarkably quickly.


Impressionist Landscapes and Seascapes Around Slapton Ley in at Slapton Ley, starting August 08, 2016

Both the FSC centre and the course were outstanding. The facility was wonderful and the staff all very friendly and helpful; the kitchen provided great meals through the week. The tutor, John Shave, was so accessible and put in so much time providing assistance and demonstrations. And, the area is astonishingly beautiful. A great way for all ages to experience the outdoors.


Impressionist Landscapes and Seascapes Around Slapton Ley in at Slapton Ley, starting August 08, 2016

John Shave was the best oil painting Tutor I have ever had. Each day we practised techniques he showed us and then we did full paintings of our own - an excellent way of going about things. I learnt so much more than on any other oils course, including how to use water-mixable oils to good effect as well as the 'normal' oils I am used to. I received lots of good individual advice as well as benefitting from hearing the advice others were getting - and I was actually pleased with every painting I did.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting August 08, 2016

I'm an extremely good course with a very knowledgeable tutor, who gave his time without restraint. I learned so much and will definately be coming back again.thankyou


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 05, 2016

The course was great fun and the mixture of geology, botany and marine biology (+ moth trap & bats) complimented each other very well. The tutor was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and it added to the pleasure having the dogs with us. The sites visited were well chosen to provide various interests and the tutor managed the minibus very well on difficult, narrow roads. The helpers present on a couple of days were useful as the tutor was working very hard (especially by carrying a heavy rucksack). The field centre was very comfortable, well managed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Many thanks for an excellent week.


Landscapes in Watercolour: From Inspirations to Finished Pai at Flatford Mill, starting August 05, 2016

Always love this course and have taken it before


Digital Plant Photography at Slapton Ley, starting August 01, 2016

I particularly wanted to do a course on plant photography and was delighted to find such a good, experienced tutor in Adrian Davies. The group was of mixed ability but I think we worked well together an all left having developed our interest. Adrian is also a knowledgeable Botanist and knew much of the birds and butterflies we saw. We had hot weather so clamoured for ice creams and two of us were able to stay on an extra day to enjoy a long walk at Prawle Point. A wonderful FSC Centre with very attentive staff, especially in the kitchen with innovative menu and food. I love the ethos at Slapton Ley.


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 01, 2016

The tutors are great as usual and I always enjoy the time spent with Rob and Sian Dudley


Navigable River: An Entertaining History of the River Stour at Flatford Mill, starting July 29, 2016

Very interesting subject, Neil as himself makes the course unique. Explained, & took us to see, a bit about each of the landscape, geology, agriculture, machinery, vehicles, ancient buildings, habitats, animals, plant, & old folks. He'd prepared many special country places to visit, that the public can't normally visit. A joy to listen to Neil talking (& sing) about the countryside & the old folk who used to live & work in it.


The Slapton Plein Air Group at Slapton Ley, starting July 24, 2016

Good company of like-minded people. Well organised outings to different location every day. I enjoyed the week very much. And plentiful wholesome food!


Understanding the Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire C at Dale Fort, starting July 23, 2016

Dave Green was an excellent leader in the field, and most agreeable too. It was just a pity that, for whatever reason, the trip to Caldey Island did not go ahead exactly as planned. We saw some things of great interest that day, but by no means all that had been anticipated. The other days were full of interesting and instructive features. Altogether the course whetted my appetite for a further visit to explore the geology of Pembrokeshire, and indeed the area generally.


Understanding the Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire C at Dale Fort, starting July 23, 2016

The course and tuition was brilliant, The accomodation and facilities within the accomodation block were a little bit cramped, and some of the meals were better than others. Having said that there was a great choice for the picnic lunches and everyone was very welcoming


Understanding the Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire C at Dale Fort, starting July 23, 2016

The course was excellent. Dave, (the tutor), easily adjusted his teaching to the level of the individual asking the question. His enthusiasm for his subject was infectious and his enjoyment when communicating his depth of knowledge was obvious and pleasurable. Five stars for Dave. Dale Centre however needs to rethink how to change from mass catering for youngsters to improved catering for mature adults. Finally rather than selling tasteless beer from large breweries stock up from local producers of craft ale, making the whole stay more enjoyable and creating a better impression on largely non-welsh visitors.


Introductory Geology in Perthshire at Kindrogan, starting July 22, 2016

First class course. Appropriate for complete beginners upwards, good supporting experimental and practical exhibits, excellent enthusiastic and knowledgeable tutor and good balance between field work and class room learning.


Exploring Snowdonia at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting July 22, 2016

This was one of the best courses I've ever been on, just right for each of the participants.


Designing and Making Stained Glass at Millport, starting July 04, 2016

A fun and informative course, held in the beautiful location of the Isle of Cumbrae. Gill is both an experienced practitioner and teacher. She guided us through all of the processes needed to make a leaded glass panel from our own designs, knowing when to step back and let us learn for ourselves and when a helping hand was needed. This was a great introduction for a total beginner. So much so, that I'm setting up a little workbench at home (with advice on materials from Gill)! I'd thoroughly recommend this course to anyone who enjoys making things.


Late Spring Walking Weekend: Exploring South Suffolk and 'Co at Flatford Mill, starting June 03, 2016

An idyllic and very interesting weekend. Neil Catchpole's intimate knowledge of the local countryside, its architecture, its farms, its trees and above all its people gave us a wonderful portrait of a rapidly vanishing world. And he sang to us as well! I will cherish the memories. AND I stayed in Willy Lott's house! AND to see a champion Suffolk Punch stallion! The FSC staff were kind and helpful and the food good. Very good value for money.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting May 31, 2016

Another excellent few days with enthusiastic students under George's expert guidance. I hope that there is some succession planning going on to ensure that this unique course continues into the future, and that some money is being allocated towards the purchase of equipment and materials so that George does not have to bring an entire workshop with him every time. It would be sad loss indeed if this course were not to carry on.


Spring Digital Photography in Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting May 23, 2016

This was a very enjoyable three days of varying locations and types of photography. The course was made for me by John, our leader. He was excellent, there to help when needed but importantly leaving those more experienced to work under their own steam. The staff at Dale Fort were helpful and friendly, the accommodation a little more basic than expected. Saying that food pretty good and room provided essential amenities.


Spring Digital Photography in Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting May 23, 2016

Course was excellent as was the Tutor John Archer Thompson. Please do more of the like. Booking with £50 deposit went well thereafter contact with the centre administration became a bit chaotic.


Spring Wildlife Watch at Orielton, starting May 05, 2016

Excellent and informative few days, blessed by good weather for all outdoor activities. Course tutors knew their subject and made sure all the group got to see everything possible. Accommodation comfortable and food good and plentiful. Highlights: trip to Skomer Island and seeing puffins around their burrows and watching badgers from the comfort of the common room.


Spring Wildlife Watch at Orielton, starting May 05, 2016

This course was excellent and I enjoyed every minute.


Spring Photography in the Lake District at Blencathra, starting April 08, 2016

Great fun, great tutor, fab food, decent accommodation and all the centre staff were absolutely smashing. Really enjoyed my stay


Wood Carving for Beginners at Kindrogan, starting April 08, 2016

An excellent introduction for the real novice/beginner. The whole weekend ,including the venue & food was of a high standard and great value for money. The leader was amusing and inspiring - very patient and willing to answer the most 'silliest' questions by the participants. The centre staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. I would recommend this venue and course to anyone wanting to try something creative that they haven't tried before!


Wood Carving for Beginners at Kindrogan, starting April 08, 2016

A lovely secluded location, perfect for a retreat back to basics. Deer and red squirrels in abundance, and was fortunate enough to see the pine marten. John White, wood carving, was a fabulous teacher with a mind for health and safety and a good sense of humour. Drive to Kindrogan through stunning countryside, winding road with roaming sheep and lambs. Ideal getaway. Super friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, good food and a bar to boot! What's not to like! Would definately go back for another visit.


Willow Work: Small Willow Sculptures at Flatford Mill, starting April 08, 2016

Ideal beginners course for willow work.


Willow Work: Small Willow Sculptures at Flatford Mill, starting April 08, 2016

Ideal beginners course in willow work. Jo the tutor gave very useful tips and advice in both the making of the structures and purchasing materials.


Surrey Hills Landscape Painting at Juniper Hall, starting April 08, 2016

Excellent tutor, very informative and made it very accessible. Rob was also very generous with any extra materials and paint that we may need, it was good to use other materials other than ones that I was familar with. Very enjoyable course with a great tutor. Really has helped me with furthering my painting skills. If there was anything it was a little noisy at night as it seemed that because the doors were all fire doors they slammed loudly. Maybe a rubber seal or something similar could be fitted so they didn't slam against the wood stoppers qiute so hard? This didn't detract from how good the course was though.


Surrey Hills Landscape Painting at Juniper Hall, starting April 08, 2016

I had a wonderful weekend at Juniper Hall. Rob Dudley, The Tutor, was an inspiration. He introduced us to new techniques and he was full of enthusiasm, encouraging each member of the group according to their level of confidence and experience. The accommodation was clean and pleasant, and the food delicious. There was opportunity to make full use of the Surrey Countryside around the Hall.


Exploring Flowers in Watercolour at Juniper Hall, starting April 08, 2016

Once again another great course tutored by Sian Dudley.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting April 01, 2016

A very well run and enjoyable course. The tutor gave excellent demonstrations of techniques and helpful feedback on our efforts. The accommodation and food was exceptionally good, as was the hospitality provided by staff. It was a thoroughly worthwhile experience.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting April 01, 2016

An excellent introduction to painting. I had not picked up a paintbrush loaded with anything other than Dulux for nearly forty years. Andrews demonstrations, kindness, patience and gentle humour made the weekend really enjoyable. A truly inspirational teacher.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting March 30, 2016

Once again my thanks to Carole for her patience. I did find this difficult, as I did the first panel I made last March, but that was due to my arthritic hands! I'm probably "better" doing copper-foiling (I hope). I loved the finished panel and my husband has now put it, together with the first panel and the Valentine's Heart I made in February, on the wall above the door to his workshop - and they look wonderful! But again, it was all due to Carole's great tuition. Thank you.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting March 30, 2016

Excellent day, tutor was very easy to follow and gave assistance to enable completion of a lovely item.


Flatford Watercolour Adventure at Flatford Mill, starting March 29, 2016

This was very enjoyable, it was good to work with a real artist. We could have done with a bit more guidance though - maybe more challenges with subject matter.


Flatford Watercolour Adventure at Flatford Mill, starting March 29, 2016

Most enjoyable. We were lucky enough to get warm weather so we could paint outside (in March!) Thomas had some interesting and different ideas for us to try and we enjoyed seeing examples of his stunning work too. The consensus was that our group had expected more tuition to be given but this was provided after we encouraged him to! Particularly enjoyed the challenge of lots of painting mini pictures.


Working Dark to Light in Acrylics at Flatford Mill, starting March 18, 2016

Very enjoyable course. Great enthusiastic teacher. Came away with confidence to try new techniques using acrylics.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting February 19, 2016


Stained Glass for Beginners and Near Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting February 19, 2016

An excellent weekend. The course Itself was well structured, I made a piece of work far beyond my expectations in such a short time that was clearly the result of the brilliant tutor that was Sharon. I thought the centre was well organised with great food and comfortable accommodation . I was lucky enough to stay in Willy Lotts house😊


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting February 15, 2016

Excellent tuition, help and advice from George, in a friendly group of like-minded enthusiasts. The catering was as good as ever, and the staff helpful and welcoming. The only issue was the overheating of the workspace during the day.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting February 15, 2016

With a terrific, authoritative tutor, this course allowed me the time and space carefullt to learn and develop core skills and then to have the confidence to move on from there. Flatford Mill is a very well managed Centre, with staff who are always willing to listen and to help... and serving excellent food. A great all-round experience.


Make a Stained Glass Heart for Valentines Day at Flatford Mill, starting February 08, 2016

Absolutely beautiful finished product, but I couldn't have done it without our marvellous tutor, Carole. Thank you once again!


Photography in Epping Forest in Winter at Epping Forest, starting January 23, 2016

Excellent course. Very informal, and most enjoyable. Not necessarily for a complete beginner. More time to view the other student's photographs would have been useful.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting December 07, 2015

Yet again another really interesting and productive week under the expert guidance of George. The catering was up to the usual high standard, and the staff friendly and helpful as always.


Stained Glass – Make your own Christmas Decorations at Flatford Mill, starting December 01, 2015

Brilliant, wonderful teacher, thank you Carole, I could not have made them without your help.


Making Glass Stars for Christmas! at Flatford Mill, starting November 30, 2015

I enjoyed this workshop so much in 2014 I booked again for 2015, and managed to make 5 stars! As always, my thanks to our tutor Carole.


Portrait Painting and Drawing at Flatford Mill, starting November 27, 2015


Watercolour: Wet into Wet into Wet! at Flatford Mill, starting November 20, 2015

Very much enjoyed it and learnt quite a lot although I had to leave half way through due to a family problem. John is a patient and good teacher and always thought a painting could be saved!


Painting Plants: Autumn Colours and Designs at Flatford Mill, starting November 13, 2015

Lovely course with a good mix of receiving valuable advice and being able to get on and finish some paintings which I was pleased with. Wish I could go again this year but am already tied up that weekend.


Hedgerow Basketry at Flatford Mill, starting November 13, 2015

Magical setting . Happy welcoming family feel to Field centre staff . Very helpful . Lashings of good food Sadly course very poor . Very slow to get started . Having arrived Friday evening we did not start any weaving until after I pm Saturday . Too much time collecting material , 3/4 hour to cut three stems ! Then further hour , not having weaved anything we mainly collected wrong stuff . Very heavy handed earth and safety , literally don't go out on you own . Knife management etc Teaching not well organised , little praise . Did learn some new techniques eventually . i would definately visit the centre again . For different course


Hedgerow Basketry at Kindrogan, starting October 23, 2015

Really enjoyed the course but wish I had chosen the residential option.


Autumn Digital Photography in Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting October 23, 2015

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The course tuition and the catering was very good


Improve Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting October 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The demonstrations were really helpful and all 7 participants were motivated to make the most of John Tookey's instruction. He was keen that we should get as much out of it as possible and visited us all regularly to help with any problems and make suggestions. We were very fortunate with the weather on the first weekend in October and were able to paint outdoors throughout,often in the sun. This meant that the public visited Flatford Mill in force on both days, which restricted the nearby locations it was pleasant to paint in.


Discovering Timber-Framed Buildings in Suffolk and Essex at Flatford Mill, starting October 02, 2015

The course was excellent, and as always Flatford Mill was lovely, as were the people and the food. I would however like to mention that the bed(s) in my room at Valley Farm were well past their best which led to tiredness and inability to enjoy the experience as well as I should have given two decent nights' sleep.


Freshen Up Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting September 25, 2015

Had to watch 6 complete paintings ,which could ,presumably be sold later. It was 11.30 on Saturday before we had a chance to pick up a pencil. He'd not lead us through any exercises, tonal studies etc. We could easily have tackled a small section on one of his paintings .I cant learn by just watching I have to do it and practise. The resources were not ready at the start of each session. Great artist, poor tutor. however the venue and staff are amazing and I love visiting the Centre.


Stained Glass: Painting With Light at Flatford Mill, starting August 28, 2015

Excellent and well presented course. Carole is a brilliant tutor, providing just the right level of interaction. Well stocked room with sufficient materials to choose from. Great cakes supplied by the kitchen, well done team! Fantastic setting, reasonable price and friendly staff.


Stained Glass: Painting With Light at Flatford Mill, starting August 28, 2015

Course Ok and interesting but rather limited and tutor rather curt Extra charge for materials was excessive Flatford Lovely, accommodation good but definitely geared to groups as opposed to family or couples Food plentiful but basic


Seabirds and Cetaceans at Fsc Head Office, starting August 25, 2015

Great Course! Although the headline says 'at FSC Head Office', this week started in Inverness and we stayed in two lovely locations (Gairloch in Wester Ross & Uig on Isle of Lewis). Jeff and Martyn were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly tutors and we certainly learned lots. Wildlife tours in Scotland will always have two caveats - the weather and the unpredictability of animals. During our visit, the weather was not always in our favour and we did not make it to St Kilda. Despite this, our guides ensured we saw lots of seabirds and had good views of 5 cetacean species and basking shark! Also added bonus of botany, geology, history and culture of Wester Ross and the Isle of Lewis.


The Secret Hills of Shropshire at Preston Montford, starting August 24, 2015

A very well-structured course which provided an excellent introduction to this AONB - geology, history, industry, ecology. Course leader approachable, knowledgeable and very professional. Hospitality excellent and the coffee was better than at many hotels I have stayed at.


The Secret Hills of Shropshire at Preston Montford, starting August 24, 2015

This was a really enjoyable and valuable course. I was using this as part of my own self-lead knowledge and skills base development to enhance the work that I do (on my own time) with primary school groups that stay on residential trips here at Court Hill. I shall most definitely be looking to book another course, probably for next year. All the staff on the Preston Montford Centre team were excellent and helped to create a brilliant experience during the all to short course. Keith Matthews


Watercolours of Wales at Margam Discovery Centre, starting August 21, 2015

Enjoyable course Tutor David Johnson is great the food has improved greatly at this centre. I feel a little less time on field trips out and more use of the grounds at Margam would make it perfect


Fly Fishing in the Dales at Malham Tarn, starting August 21, 2015

Well done,I didn't expect that level. For me was an excellent course, since when I booked with other fly fishers guides they just gave me a Rod,lines and flies into my hand without the meaning why I am using them. Many thanks goes also to Mr. Stephen Cheetham for his dedication and passion. Location is also perfect and reflect the effort doing by all of Malham Tarn staff. Thanks and Regards, Anthony Aquilina


History and Natural History of the Conwy Valley from Source at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 16, 2015

Excellent course with very knowledgeable tutor. Well planned visits, covering a range of topics concerning the Conwy Valley


Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire Coast at Dale Fort, starting August 08, 2015

Really good. We learned a lot & enjoyed ourselves as well.


Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire Coast at Dale Fort, starting August 08, 2015

A very interesting and enjoyable course - great fun going on excursions round Pembrokeshire and never any rush . A very broad range of knowledge displayed. A huge amount to learn about but easy to understand.


Geology and Scenery of North Wales at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 07, 2015

Fascinating to learn of complexity of rocks often walked over unconsidered. David Cronshaw brilliant tutor as ever.


Watercolour: Awash with Ideas! at Flatford Mill, starting August 07, 2015

I always enjoy this course with Sian Dudley. I have been attending courses at Flatford Mill for a number of years tutored by this lovely lady and her husband Rob. They are very popular courses and are always very informative and encouraging to all levels of expertise in the studio.


Watercolour: Awash with Ideas! at Flatford Mill, starting August 07, 2015

Fabulous, Teacher/Artist Sian was excellent, very friendly, funny and so encouraging and supportive. I learnt so much and have booked to go back next year. The other students were all such fun and lovely people The accommodation was good, the food amazing and tasty and all the staff at Flatford Mill were lovely. The area was beautiful, lots to see and do and the sun shone, in a nutshell - the best course I have been on in the best location, just Heaven! I have discovered the Fsc and cannot wait to be able to attend more art courses at their centres.


Botanical Illustration at Preston Montford, starting August 07, 2015

It was a fantastic course. I was a complete beginner with watercolours and the tutor made me feel at ease and tailored her support to all of us so we all got what we needed. It was a privilege to learn from someone so talented and it has inspired me to keep going!


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 03, 2015


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 03, 2015

I have been attending this course for many years and have always enjoyed the subjects covered and the encouragement given by Sian and Rob Dudley. They are wonderful tutors and good for every level of skill.


Enliven Your Watercolours at Malham Tarn, starting August 03, 2015

A very enjoyable, intense and well structured course that dealt with each students needs and problems individually, I came away with increased confidence about my painting ability, and a basis for continued inprovement


A Slapton Ley Sketch Book in Watercolour and Pen and Wash at Slapton Ley, starting August 03, 2015

Very enjoyable. Plenty of opportunity to do your own thing if you want to whilst good guidance also available


A Slapton Ley Sketch Book in Watercolour and Pen and Wash at Slapton Ley, starting August 03, 2015

Excellent course, location and tutor - would certainly recommend similar course to others.


Impressionist Landscapes and Seascapes around Slapton Ley in at Slapton Ley, starting August 03, 2015

Excellent! Had a great time; learnt a lot from great tuition. Food excellent, staff v helpful & accommodating. Would go back to Slapton Ley - especially now I know how to find it!


Insect Photography Workshop at Preston Montford, starting August 03, 2015


Insect Photography Workshop at Preston Montford, starting August 03, 2015

My second course with John Bebbington - who has unparalleled hands-on experience photographing insects (and flowers). He has improvised set-ups to achieve extraordinary photographs. Including stacking and lapse photography. He has high expectations and evenings were spent discussing everyone's best photos of the day - and how they could be improved. So we all learnt the need to be as critical and worked hard to improve. Preston Montford is my nearest FSC Centre and easy to get to. There is plenty of scope on site and at surrounding reserves for seeing insects. The labs. are very well equipped. Food and accommodation are excellent - all easy access.


Drawing and Painting the Flora at Malham Tarn at Malham Tarn, starting July 31, 2015

I loved being in the Dales and at Malham Tarn Field Centre. The staff were friendly and the food plentiful (although I'd have preferred not to have sponge pudding 3 nights in succession!) Accommodation was adequate and that was all I expected since the place is usually about catering for school and student groups. The array of different wild flowers we saw from the boardwalk across the fen and bog was stunning, and I learned from a good and patient tutor the beginnings of how to draw and paint the plants. A very happy few days.


Drawing and Painting the Flora at Malham Tarn at Malham Tarn, starting July 31, 2015

Had a fabulous time. The tuition was great and I learnt a lot. Setting was wonderful. Food was tasty and plentiful - clearly used to students who want seconds. Can't fault the main facilities wish I could say the same about the rooms. Very basic and I do understand that for the majority of the year its school children and university students. However the pillows, duvets were poor quality and surely when catering for adults just popping in a side light and a hairdryer won't be too complicated. Having to jump out of bed to turn off the light after reading was my main niggle.


Watercolour: Tips, Tricks and Techniques at Slapton Ley, starting July 27, 2015

The course run by Sian and Rob Dudley was excellent again this year. They are accomplished, enthusiastic and motivational teachers and I made greater strides this year than at any time previously. The venue was again excellent and we reaLLY APPRECIATED THE STAFF AND THE CATERING


A Taste of Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting July 22, 2015

Splendid


Painting in Oils: Seago at Pin Mill at Flatford Mill, starting July 20, 2015

Wonderful course and the tutor, John Shave was excellent providing clear information, wonderful demos and one to one advice. The locations were so inspiring. The staff were also top notch, friendly and helpful.


Watercolours Around Flatford at Flatford Mill, starting July 20, 2015

Sue Williams is a lovely tutor - calm, patient and very generous with advice and tips on how to improve a painting. Great location - marvellously unspoilt rural environment. Bonus was the evening walks in perfect summer weather. Group was very friendly and we had fun tackling the challenges presented by a range of landscape, farm buildings, riverscapes and a number of local beauty spots. Food too was of an excellent quality. Couldn't fault the organisation and attention to detail by the Centre staff.


The Slapton Plein Air Group at Slapton Ley, starting July 20, 2015

A very enjoyable course, which benefited from all participants having experience of painting outdoors. There was no formal tuition and none was needed, but painting alongside other group members gave an insight into different techniques. Gerald Green was very supportive, and suggested locations and suitable subjects for painting. The use of the minibus transport to busy resorts was a great benefit, removing the need for car sharing and hunting for car parking spaces (as well as not having to drive on narrow and unfamiliar roads). Good food and lodgings - overall great value.


Develop Your Watercolours from Sketches and Photographs at Blencathra, starting July 16, 2015

Wonderful. I learned a lot, the accomodation was basic but great, the food was wonderful and I really enjoyed myself.


Develop Your Watercolours from Sketches and Photographs at Blencathra, starting July 16, 2015

Very good tutor kept us busy when weather not good enough to be outside. he worked through three paintings with us and I learned a lot about waatercolour technigues by doing this.


Introductory Geology in Perthshire at Kindrogan, starting July 10, 2015

A great introduction to geology delivered by a very competent tutor.


Introductory Geology in Perthshire at Kindrogan, starting July 10, 2015

A very instructive and enjoyable course, a well structured introduction to a complex subject, with excellent lectures, handouts, maps and samples. Lectures in the morning were followed by field trips to study relevant examples of rock formations, and a further lecture in the evening. As with everything else, you get out what you put in; it required concentration and a level of mental and physical fitness to keep up.


Flora and Fauna for Hillwalkers at Kindrogan, starting June 19, 2015

Well taught course at a great location. Perhaps needs a bit more contingency planning for bad weather.


Improve Your Watercolours: Introducing Pen and Wash at Flatford Mill, starting June 12, 2015

My second weekend course was just as good as the first. A mature tutor with amazing stamina! I left, once again, determined to do what every artist has to do; practice! The course was a little tiring at times, and it might be an idea to incorporate some timetabling that allowed people some more time to recharge their batteries.I will def be back for more.


Botanical Illustration Using Coloured Pencils at Flatford Mill, starting May 29, 2015

The venue at Flatford Mill is delightful, it was an inspiration to sleep in Willy Lott's House - a piece of artistic history! The centre staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the facilities good. The course tutor was very knowledgable and helpful, the others attending the course were also helpful and friendly. The whole weekend was wonderful and I would strongly recommend anyone to attend that, or indeed any course at Flatford. Thank you


Green Woodworking for Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting May 29, 2015

A fantastic course. Richard was very enthusiastic and knowledgable and taught in a really friendly way where his enthusiasm rubbed of on the rest of the group. We learnt lots of new skills and covered a variety of topics with all of us producing turned and made items. The group sizing was right, in that it was large enough to be a good cross section of participants but small small enough to be able to have individual questions answered as and when necessary. The food was fantastic with good portions and very tasty which went down well after a day in the woods. Well recommended and will look to do similar in the future.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting May 26, 2015

Another excellent week in the Constable Room making books with George. I reverted to being non-residential this time, so I can't say anything about the accommodation, but the catering was very good as usual. The sticky toffee pudding was especially nice this time.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting May 26, 2015

The course was excellent. Although their were 9 other participants the tutor was able to give enough one to one time to everyone to accommodate the different levels of skill and experience. I completed the restorations I had hoped and learned to a sufficient level the new skills I had planned to allow me to carry on practising on my own. The location at Flatford is second to none and the the facilities and quality of meals excellent.


Botanical Illustration for Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting May 26, 2015

Wonderful, Lesley is a very good tutor, nothing was too much trouble and I learnt another technique. My fellow students were a very friendly crowd and we had a good laugh and enjoyed ourselves while we were learning. Flatford Mill is in a beautiful setting and I hope to do another course there some time.


Uist Islands at Fsc Head Office, starting May 23, 2015

Corncrakes, Otters, ancient settlements and an introduction to crofting - looks like hard work! but interesting to see how the machair is used by the crofters and to learn about the difficulties of existing in this environment. When the sun came out the colours were amazing. Good views of waders in breeding plumage and small farmland birds.


Uist Islands at Fsc Head Office, starting May 23, 2015

Excellent course - accomodation comfortable (tho thin walls!) and food very good, itineraries well chosen with flexiblity where group members or weather required, group leader (Martyn Jamieson) excellent with a very good knowledge of bird & animal life on the islands. It's a shame that the late spring meant that the machair flowers were not showing much but that is beyond human control. I learnt more about birds than I expected and enjoyed seeing the various neolithic and medieval remains that Martyn found for us. The wild scenery was wonderful especially the white beaches and such amazingly blue seas. I look forward to visiting other Scottish islands in the future.


Sketching in Epping Forest: Beginners at Epping Forest, starting May 10, 2015

Introduced me to new approaches to sketching.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting May 08, 2015

Accommodation basic but staff welcoming and friendly. Simple wholesome food and plenty of it. Course tutor was fantastic and I would highly recommend this course. I was an "absolute beginner" never having put brush to paper but I came away from the weekend with a real foundation of techniques to practise and build on


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting May 08, 2015

excellent course. Tutor very supportive. You will surprise yourself. Arrive early to walk around this beatiful site, you won't have much time to do it later!


Improve Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting May 01, 2015

Really good course with some great demonstrations throughout. John is a fantastic artist and I found his help with practical knowledge great. Very enjoyable time throughout with a great tutor. Accommodation good, couldn't fault it, lovely location and a beautiful ancient building.


Improve Your Watercolours at Flatford Mill, starting May 01, 2015

Lovely accommodation in valley farm. Staff all very friendly and helpful. An interesting course with tips to help develop my painting. The tutor was friendly and approachable and I was lucky to be part of a friendly group of people.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting April 24, 2015

Excellent course for beginners, both stretching and encouraging. Tutor very responsive to individual and group needs, adjusting content to meet requests. Strongly recommend.


Perfect Pastels: Painting with Soft Pastels and Pastel Penci at Flatford Mill, starting April 24, 2015

Excellent course. Met all my objectives. Carole Massey is an excellence tutor. Very knowledgeable and skillful.


Wildlife Photography with Birds of Prey at Epping Forest, starting April 12, 2015


Wood Carving for Beginners at Kindrogan, starting April 10, 2015

The Wood Carving Beginners Course at Kindgrogan was exactly as I had hoped. John White took us carefully through each of the processes needed to complete a relief carving of an owl. The pace was relaxed but not slow, each person able to work at their own speed. Although probably slower than most, I was able, with John's help, to make the most of the time given. Many thanks to John White and to Kindrogan FSC and all those involved. It was a very special weekend.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting April 08, 2015

This was very different as we used lead and not copper foil and soldering. But my finished panel looks great, thank you.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting April 08, 2015

An enjoyable and useful day which covered all the techniques of cutting glass into shapes, filing it down, preparing the panel and applying the lead work. It left me with the confidence to work with glass on my own.


Introduction to Dry Stone Walling at Margam Discovery Centre, starting March 30, 2015

Excellent tutor, learned a lot. Cannot fault it.


Drawing for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting March 27, 2015

It was a start, but just not long enough to get really into improving one's drawing skills.


Painting Spring Flowers Using Line and Watercolour at Flatford Mill, starting March 13, 2015

The whole weekend from Friday to Sunday afternoon was inspirational. No stress involved but challenging flowers to paint. Beautiful countryside to walk in when not painting. Good food throughout the time with very friendly kitchen staff who catered for peolpe with differing needs. The facilities were excellnt especially the bedrooms. JP


Winter Photography at Blencathra, starting February 20, 2015

See comments for April 2016


Winter Photography at Blencathra, starting February 20, 2015


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting February 17, 2015

Another splendid week making a repairing books under the expert eye of George Davidson, with interesting fellow students. The catering at Flatford is very good, as always. This was my first time as a residential participant, and the quality of the accommodation was very good. My only niggle is the very poor mobile signal across the whole site, and the lack of wifi in the bedrooms, which makes keeping in touch with home very frustrating.


Bookbinding and Book Repairs for Beginners and Improvers at Flatford Mill, starting February 17, 2015

Greatly enjoyed the course; very well led by knowledgeable tutor. Intend to return.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting February 09, 2015

This was an excellent course. The tutor was very proficient and gave time to each of her charges.


Photography in Epping Forest in Winter at Epping Forest, starting January 24, 2015

Great Day out with a very good tutor, good food and facilities


Watercolour for Near Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting January 23, 2015

Very good instruction.Good atmousphere and lovely setting


Stained Glass: Glass Stars for Christmas! at Flatford Mill, starting December 01, 2014

This was my first attempt at making anything with stained glass, and although I found it rather difficult at times, our tutor Carole was extremely patient with me (and everyone else), and I managed to make an extra star at the end. My husband and I were quite amazed and delighted with my results!


Portrait Painting and Drawing at Flatford Mill, starting November 28, 2014


Introduction to Hedgelaying at Margam Discovery Centre, starting November 20, 2014

Great course, really improved my technique and confidence. Cannot recommend enough.


Painting and Drawing with Pastels at Flatford Mill, starting October 24, 2014

A very enjoyable course but just not long enough! Nevertheless I learnt some good tips and produced some acceptable work.


Painting Autumn Landscapes in Watercolour at Flatford Mill, starting September 26, 2014

Colin Steed is a patient, sensitive tutor and I still can remember and use all the useful info. he gave us .I really wish I had taken his course this year. I love going to Flatford Mill ,the staff are fantastic, the venue is just perfect.


Come and Paint in ‘Constable Country’! at Flatford Mill, starting August 22, 2014


Scenery and Geology at Blencathra, starting August 16, 2014


Insect Photography Workshop at Preston Montford, starting August 11, 2014

New to insect photography and using a tripod, but by the end of the week, we were adept at seeing and photographing insects - I think we all learnt something. Our evenings were spent critiquing our best efforts of the day - John Bebbington is very professional, experienced and seeking a high standard - which we worked towards. A very busy week and steep learning curve, with enjoyable visits to local reserves. Compact site with good accommodation and food. Love going to Preston Montford FSC.


Insect Photography Workshop at Preston Montford, starting August 11, 2014


Landscapes in Watercolour: From Inspirations to Finished Pai at Flatford Mill, starting August 08, 2014


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 08, 2014


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 04, 2014


Painting in Oils: Seago at Pin Mill at Flatford Mill, starting July 28, 2014

Excellent course with excellent tutoring


Watercolour: Tips, Tricks and Techniques at Slapton Ley, starting July 28, 2014

The comments I have made for 2015 apply equally to 2014. I can't fault the teaching and enthusiasm and skill of the tutors. That I returned in 2015 is proof of my appreciation of the course and the venue. I have already communicated this information on the feedback form at the Centre


A Taste of Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting July 22, 2014

Fabulous week due to Steve's commitment to helping us get as much out of it as possible. He really went the extra mile (literally when routes weren't quite circular...). I can see why someone who was on it the year came on it again. Bit concerned that the cook couldn't always tell the difference between a salt cellar and a tub of thyme (the two substances aren't really interchangeable) but food pretty good and plentiful. Afternoon cake not quite up to Preston Montford standards but still much appreciated. I wasn't residential so can't comment on accommodation.


Orkney: Archaeology and Wildlife of a Living Landscape at Kindrogan, starting May 17, 2014

Brochs, tombs, more tombs, standing stones, bracing weather and a few brave plants. Good leaders with knowledge of both archaeology and wildlife.


Make a Stained Glass Panel in a Day! at Flatford Mill, starting December 02, 2013

A really enjoyable day with a great piece of glass panelling to take home. Good patient teaching.


Drawing and Painting with Water-Soluble Pencils at Flatford Mill, starting November 15, 2013


Painting Plants: Autumn Colours and Design at Flatford Mill, starting November 15, 2013


Watercolour: Awash with Ideas! at Flatford Mill, starting August 16, 2013


Geology and Scenery of Shropshire at Preston Montford, starting August 16, 2013


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 12, 2013


Making Watercolours Work for You at Flatford Mill, starting August 12, 2013

My first introduction to Sian and Rob Dudley and their superb courses. it was the beginning of a greater understanding of using watercolour for me. I did find the group itself rather intimidating - participants who knew each other and went year after year, some almost to professional standard. Our accommodation out of the Centre was not good and meal times, sitting on benches was like being in an institutional refectory, hence our very successful de-camp to Slapton. My husband signed up for the photography course at the same time. It did not happen, neither did it happen at Slapton in 2015. Not good.


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 09, 2013

Excellent course. Very comprehensive. My only preference would be for more geology and less botany.Perhaps a bit more time on birds would have been good.


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 09, 2013

Excellent and very varied course with interesting and knowledgeable tutor. We covered a large range of topics which have sparked new interests in my life.


Insect Photography Workshop at Preston Montford, starting August 05, 2013


Geology and Scenery of the Pembrokeshire Coast at Dale Fort, starting July 24, 2013


‘Come and Paint in Constable Country’! at Flatford Mill, starting July 22, 2013


Journey to the Edge of the World - An Island Trip to Lewis a at Kindrogan, starting June 29, 2013

Strange figures in the landscape, atmospheric stone circles and a lasting memory of struggling across the beach at Uig in a storm force gale on the first morning. A wonderful base for the trip at Baille na Caille with its eccentric owner/chef.


The Lea Valley Walk: Lea Bridge to Three Mills at London, starting April 14, 2013


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting April 09, 2013

First class!


Portrait Painting Using Coloured Pencils at Flatford Mill, starting April 03, 2013

I really enjoyed this course and will look for more coloured pencil weekends


A Field Study of the Geology, Botany and Marine Biology in S at Slapton Ley, starting August 03, 2012


If Trees Could Talk: A History of Epping Forest at Epping Forest, starting February 26, 2012

This one-day course was very informative and well taught..


Exploring Suffolk: Something Different Every Day at Flatford Mill, starting August 15, 2011

A really enjoyable dip into Constable Country with a friendly and knowledgable leader


Geology and Scenery of North Wales at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting April 12, 2009

Extremely good teaching and a real insight into the nooks and crannies of Snowdonia. Brilliant day on the Lyn peninsula as well. I have visited Bardsey Island several times as a result.


Geology and Scenery in the Highlands at Kindrogan, starting June 20, 2008

Good course if a bit intense. Quite a lot of travelling.


`Loosen Up Your Watercolours` at Flatford Mill, starting September 16, 2005

A bit restrictive for my liking but still enjoyable.


Watercolour for Absolute Beginners at Flatford Mill, starting February 04, 2005

Really good beginners course.


Add Your Own Review

If you've been on an FSC course, you can give us your feedback.