FSC | Field Studies Council

Field Studies Council: Bringing Environmental Understanding to All

Customer Reviews

Feedback from attendees on Family courses

Average Customer Review:

4 out of 5   29 reviews



Gold Duke of Edinburgh - Conservation and Biodiversity at Slapton Ley, starting August 28, 2017

I just wish to thank all of the Slapton staff who provided a warm welcome and encouraging supportive attitude while on my residential. The ice breaker games were slightly awkward initially however they were essential. The activities lined up were a brilliant combination of education and enjoyment. One tutor was especially good as he found the perfect balance of remaining professional while still interacting in an exciting manner.


Gold Duke of Edinburgh - Conservation and Biodiversity at Slapton Ley, starting August 21, 2017


Shropshire Wildlife Safari at Preston Montford, starting August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The centre was clean and comfortable, with good food, and the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. Our two rangers went out of their way to give us a stimulating and fun time on all of the action-packed days. The rangers were very knowledgeable about the wildlife and geology, as well as the history, of the area, and the children (and adults) loved the small mammal trapping, butterfly and dragonfly catching, pond-dipping, and all the other nature-related activities. We're already planning another FSC course next summer....


Sand, Sea and Surf at Slapton Ley, starting August 11, 2017

This is the first time that I have been disappointed with an FSC course. The tutors (apart from the tutor who took us to Dartmoor) appeared ill-prepared, never fully able to tell us times and what exactly activities would involve etc. The tutors also appeared to view the week as a bit of a holiday for them. One of the tutors kept taking himself off to pursue his own activities (such as swimming around Burgh Island on the surfing day, when he was supposed to be in charge, and carrying out his own bouldering whilst he was supposed to be spotting for the participants). The other tutor did not seem to have adapted her style from the usual GCSE and A Level course and at times came across as rather patronising. There were two days - the Dartmoor and canoeing days - where we were hanging around the centre until around 10am, then on the canoeing day we simply shifted from the centre to a local park for the children to play on the swings etc. for another hour (although one suggestion had been for us to go to a garden centre because one of the tutors likes the coffee there!). This was the most expensive FSC holiday we have ever been on (and it is our main family holiday of the year), I do not feel that I got value for money as these times hanging around could have been spent doing some activities, and I left feeling that actually I paid a lot of money for the tutors to have a jolly good time, rather than for them to ensure that we had a jolly good time. The staff at the site were amazing, as always. They couldn't help enough and the centre was spotlessly clean and the food was yummy and plentiful. The tutor, who drove the mini-bus for us, was very pleasant, capable, and knowledgeable. It is a shame that the centre, and the majority of the staff, were let down by the few who appeared to take advantage. Luckily, we still managed to enjoy our holiday as the other families were great and we all got on. The activities were good fun - particularly the surfing and canoeing. The Dartmoor day could have been made longer.


Sand, Sea and Surf at Slapton Ley, starting August 11, 2017

Fantastic family holiday; well-planned activities, enthusiastic and proactive instructors, friendly centre staff, variety of delicious meals and all in an idyllic spot of the country. Really appreciated the thought that went into planning our stay. The children were given activities to do whenever suitable, even whilst walking to another activity. The course instructors were knowledgable and happy to answer questions. Our requests were listened to and wherever possible, met. Special consideration was given to my husband, who is disabled, and he was able to join in sailing and canoeing. We will definitely be looking to book another FSC holiday in future.


Wildlife Explorers Week at Margam Discovery Centre, starting August 07, 2017

Another fantastic week at Margam! A great mix of activities - educational and fun. All staff at the centre are very friendly and Alison, the tutor, is amazing. Many thanks to all who made it such fun!


Wildlife Explorers Week at Margam Discovery Centre, starting August 07, 2017

First class course with excellent tutor.


Scottish Island Seaside Wildlife at Millport, starting August 05, 2017

Fantastic course on all levels - the instructors were so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and kids loved them. The location (Cumbrae) was very special and enabled a wide diversity of viewing habits to be experienced. The accommodation (food, rooms, staff) was exemplary and the kids loved the relaxed surroundings. Thought the syllabus was pitched at the right level and could be flexed for the ages of the kids on the course. What was nice as well was that, although a lot of material was covered, the timings allowed for lots of downtime which was great as we cycled around the island four times during the week long stay. We will def book an FSC course again. You have a fantastic concept and my only thought was if you can cater for the (say) 11-16 year old group with slightly more advanced tuition but you may say that is already catered for at school and so is a limited market but that said, to teach (say) bird ringing, small mammal censuses etc etc I think would have lots of appeal. Very best and thank you to everyone at Cumbrae!


Beside the Sea at Slapton Ley, starting August 04, 2017

Amazing value for money. My girls 5 and 7 loved every moment (devil eyed crab to bloody nosed beetle)and the tutors were great with them. I loved the yummy food and not having to cook at the end of the day.


Discover Snowdonia Residential at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting July 28, 2017

Excellent course my daughter thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this course. The instructors were friendly and informative. Would highly recommend this course. Thank you to everyone - top marks.


Exploring Lakeland through Bushcraft and Adventure at Blencathra, starting May 29, 2017

We've had a truly fantastic week here. Our daughter who's 9 enjoyed all of the activities as did we! The range of activities was great and the staff were wonderful and encouraging, we couldn't have asked more from them. The food was home cooked and great tasting, family friendly choices and a good range for packed lunches. The accommodation was comfy and clean and the rest of the centre was well equipped with a games room, pantry and drying room, all of which were well used. We've not even left and I'm already looking at what other courses are available through FCS!


Spring Wildlife Safari at Margam Discovery Centre, starting April 10, 2017

My girls 5 and 7 loved this holiday from the deer outside the dining room window to trapping mice and voles and den building. Food was yummy and all the staff were really friendly.


Adventurous Activities in Wild Wales at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 12, 2016

My daughter and I had a brilliant time as always. The only thing that could be improved upon is ensuring (as much as possible) the integration of all the children from the very beginning. My daughter was the only child without another child in her family group and found the first evening quite upsetting as others chose to stay in close family groups leaving her with only her mum to play with :-(


Scottish Island Seaside Wildlife at Millport, starting July 30, 2016

Amazing family holiday - our children were still talking about it months later! The centre at Millport is brilliant - well equipped, great accommodation and excellent staff. The course was pitched just right for our 5year old and 7year old, who had lots of fun, made new friends and learnt a lot at the same time.


Lakeland Discovery - DofE Award (Gold Residential) at Blencathra, starting July 19, 2016

My daughter and friend thought this was perfect for their DoE Gold Residential. Well run, great activities, plenty food with enough choice for a fussy eater, made some new friends and even got good weather! Thank you from this family.


Exploring Lakeland Through Bushcraft and Adventure at Blencathra, starting May 30, 2016

Our best family holiday ever! Amazing food,great adventure and excellent knowledgeable staff. Great value and we have already booked our next FSC trip. Thanks team


Dive into Pembrokeshire at Dale Fort, starting August 08, 2015

Excellent. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the activities, especially the boat ride. Please say thanks to Amy and Kim for making it a first class holiday for us.


Family Snorkelling Safari at Dale Fort, starting July 25, 2015

Wonderful holiday as ever (this was our third FSC family holiday). The leaders were excellent, finding good places to snorkel despite mixed weather conditions. Dale Fort is a great base for the holiday, with lots of good snorkelling beaches nearby. Very enjoyable all round, encouraged us to buy our own snorkel sets and get out there ourselves!


Spring Wildlife Safari at Margam Discovery Centre, starting March 30, 2015

We had a fabulous time. Dave and Mick (?) were great. Very enthusiastic, catering all their info to the kids needs. I have recommended this to all my friends. Such good value for money. We will come again.


Exploring the Outdoors Through Creative Art at Blencathra, starting February 16, 2015

Was a great balance of outdoor activities and art


Wildlife Explorers at Kindrogan, starting August 02, 2013

Amazing opportunities to view wildlife


Family Wildlife Discovery at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 11, 2012

Fantastic week! Fun, engaging and educational activities, well organised and delivered by professional and enthusiastic staff in a stunning location. What more could you ask for? We're looking forward to many more holidays and experiences with the FSC in the future.


Family Wildlife Discovery at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 11, 2012


Beside the Sea: a Family Natural History Course at Slapton Ley, starting August 10, 2012


Beside the Sea: a Family Natural History Course at Slapton Ley, starting August 10, 2012

Great blend of evening activities, trips out learning about the area and wildlife/the natural world


Family Holiday Arts and Crafts at Dale Fort, starting August 08, 2011


Family Wildlife Discovery at Rhyd-y-Creuau, starting August 16, 2009

It was great!


Family Bushcraft Weekend at Juniper Hall, starting March 30, 2007


Bugs, Beasts and Birds at Dale Fort, starting July 20, 2005


Add Your Own Review

If you've been on an FSC course, you can give us your feedback.