The FSC is a registered charity in England and Wales, and in Scotland. The Board of Trustees is the governing body, responsible for ensuring that FSC conducts its affairs in accordance with the Articles of Association and the law.

The Board and its principal committees operate to a schedule of quarterly meetings. Once policy and strategy have been agreed, responsibility for implementation lies with the Chief Executive and Management Team.


  • Patron – HRH The Prince of Wales 
  • President – Professor Timothy P Burt FAGU FRGS 
  • Chairman – Professor Desmond B A Thompson FRSE FCIEEM
  • Chief Executive – Mark Castle OBE
  • Vice Patrons:
    Professor Steve Jones FRS
    Joanna Mcvey
    David Streeter MBE FRSB
    Professor Iain Stewart MBE PRSGS FRSE 
  • Vice-Presidents:
    Alastair Lavery OBE
    Rob Lucas FRGS
    Anthony D Thomas OBE


  • Mr Paul Airey
  • Mr Peter Anderson
  • Mr Geoff Brown
  • Dr Caroline Bucklow
  • Prof Timothy Burt
  • Mr Rob Cooke
  • Ms Amanda Craig
  • Prof Peter Higgins
  • Dr Nicholas Howden
  • Prof Tom Hutchinson
  • Dr Karen Kerr
  • Mr Chris Lane
  • Prof Rob Marrs
  • Ms Gill Miller
  • Ms Kim Somerville
  • Mr Jeff Sissons
  • Prof Des Thompson
  • Mr John Thomson
  • Ms Jenifer White